Expanding The Black Swan Collective

As most of you know, it’s been a tough time of things these past few months. Back in August, I finally got a job I liked and enjoyed only to be laid off about two and a half months later. I had some faith that it was only a temporary situation, but after almost three months, I’ve given up on getting that job back even though I still haven’t gotten an official word.

Fortunately, I kept my previous part-time job, but I don’t have hours again with that position until February. Even when I get those hours, the job grossly underpays and doesn’t give me enough hours. However, it’s all I have right now, so I stick with it.

Still, this has left me with much time to think about what I really want to do. Since I’m getting almost no work from my freelance editing/proofreading call, I’ve decided to go ahead with a venture I’ve wanted to do for years now.

As you all know, I host a radio show called the Black Swan Collective. When I announced this show, I mentioned that I had larger intentions for it than just music. I wanted to feature artists of all types and give them a platform to showcase their work. So this is what I’m going to do as soon as possible.

I am planning to launch a daily (weekday) show to give Black women artists of all types a platform. I want to talk with women in music, film, theatre, writing, poetry, painting, sculpting, fashion, comics, mixed media, anything they use to express themselves creatively. Furthermore, I want to talk with activists whether or not they use art to address their social issues.

This month, I want to make preparations and get together a guest list for the first few weeks. I want to speak with women at any level of their career whether they have just started or are veterans in the field. I plan to use this schedule:

  • Music Monday
  • Tuesday Free-for-All
  • Writer Wednesday
  • Thursday Free-for-All
  • Filmmaker Friday

I do plan to make this a live show, but I’ll probably only have people submit questions on social media or through email in advance for the guests. I want it to be interactive and give these artists a chance to express themselves without worry of censorship. Many Black women creatives have limited options when it comes to where they can promote and I’d like to provide another option. If I a guest is not available for an episode, then I may try to find someone who has the time and means to have a discussion about an artist for that day’s theme.

This may be the perfect time to execute this idea since I now have flex hours at the PT three days a week. This means I can work my hours any time of day I want. I want to leave 11 a.m. CST open for the show on a platform such as Blog Talk Radio or Talk Shoe and later upload the show onto a source like iTunes and/or Stitcher for those who can’t tune in to the live show.

Of course, I plan to continue doing the music show every other weekend and @blackgirlsquee on alternate weekends. I will also continue to write, but the Raven Moody series should be ended by then or close to it.

Now to get to the hard part. I have decided to start a Patreon within the next few days to help with expenses for the show(s) and quite frankly with my overall living situation. I have avoided starting a Patreon before now because I just didn’t feel like I had anything to offer. I have lots of followers on my Twitter and Tumblr platforms, but this does not necessarily translate into interest in anything I’ve already offered. Furthermore, I feel like most people who have helped and supported me in the past are in similar positions as me and are stretched in their abilities as far as how much support they can offer.

Right now I don’t have much I can offer in the way of incentives. I may make exclusive content available to supporters. I can offer content such as short stories or other forms of writing. Unfortunately, I have no artistic skills, so I can’t do commissions on art pieces or anything cool like that. However, I may take suggestions on guests or other discussions.

In the meanwhile as I put this together, I can really use some help. I only have a few hours work from a freelance research job these past couple of weeks and any money I had from sporadic work over the past couple of months has been dwindled to practically $0. I know I was in a tough spot just a few months ago and thought I wouldn’t have to worry about it again with the new job, but as I explained, I got laid off. Any donations you can make as I prepare the new show this month would be greatly appreciated.

By the way, I’m also planning to self-publish a novella this month. It’s something I wrote years ago. I have been considering looking for a publisher and/or agent for other work(s) for some time, but I need an extra source of income immediately to be honest. In the meantime, I’ll also be editing and revising the novel (yes that one) I’ve been working on for the past three years.

Otherwise, I’m excited to finally follow my dream and do something I hope will make a difference to Black women. I know I don’t have the clout of some of your favorite podcasts, but hopefully we’ll grow from the bottom up and amplify the voices of Black women artists.

3 thoughts on “Expanding The Black Swan Collective

  1. Reblogged this on Dust and commented:
    Y’all, please support Inda in all her creative endeavors if you can. Inda has a LOT to offer!

    PS. Hey girl, how can a certain podcaster/blogger get on your guest list? ;D

  2. Reblogged this on My Pen's a Machete and commented:
    I’m so excited for this, Inda! I really wish I could support you financially but, unfortunately, I’m currently not in a position to do so.

    If anyone sees this please help support my amazing friend.

Comments are closed.