Clarion West and Space Operas

Most of you know by now that I’m a bad blog hostess. I’m less than consistent on the blog and I sometimes feel I’m not tackling interesting enough subjects because everything is focused on… well me. However, I do like to keep you informed of what I’m doing and I need to get better on my self-promotion. It still feels weird because I can’t convince myself that I have anything to offer of any value, but I’m working on it.

Having said that, I am again participating in the Clarion West Write-a-Thon. I set the goal to write at least a chapter of a series I’m working on each week, which would put me ten chapters into a series that should last about 18 to 20 chapters. I’ve found it much easier to write directly to a word processor since I rediscovered ZenWriter, so I just may attain these goals.

Which brings me to the next point. I am about to launch a web series here on my WordPress blog. The best I can describe it is a space opera, if I’m using that term correctly, with a Black female protagonist. I hope to begin on the summer solstice, June 21st. I have decided to drop chapters biweekly, which gives me enough time to stay ahead of schedule with the writing but not wait too long between chapters. This means one week I drop a chapter and the next week I drop an episode of The Black Swan Collective on Mixcloud.

I’m rather nervous about doing this, but I have done a series once before. I novelized it after it was done and made it available on Smashwords. The reason I’m nervous is because I still get no feedback on it after nearly three years and 700 downloads. Furthermore, I still feel raw about putting out my writing untested without the benefit of professional editing, but I’m trying to get better about sharing my fiction. Hopefully, this series will find an audience and people will enjoy The Raven Moody Chronicles.

So this is the plan for the summer. Right now it seems like a lot, but so many people I know have full-time jobs, families, school and other obligations yet still manage to do weekly podcasts, write fanfiction, stream games and do other cool stuff. So I guess this means my barely employed ass can write a series and do a radio show.

I’m also contemplating other practical matters such as soliciting donations. I don’t feel entirely comfortable with it because I still feel like I haven’t really offered anything that makes me worth supporting, but I also have to consider that circumstances may make it necessary. I mean rent has to be paid, utilities and Internet have to stay on so I can work and groceries have to be bought. Still this is a sore and uncomfortable issue for me and I have not yet reconciled it.

So hopefully you all will join me with the new series and enjoy it. I’m hoping dropping the first chapter will make it real and go a way toward helping me keep my goals set for seeing this series through.

