My Writing Process: Blog Tour

Tananarive Due Writes

Yes, Idris. Yes, we should. Yes, Idris. Yes, we should.

I was invited to participate in this blog tour on writing by a very enthusiastic and talented writer named Serena Lin I met as her VONA workshop instructor. She posted last week on her Drunken Whispers blog. (Her thoughtful post is well worth reading!)

Question #1: What are you working on? 

I am, at last, researching a new novel.  My working title is The Reformatory, and it will be a historical supernatural suspense novel set in 1930s Florida.  My most recent solo novel was 2011’s My Soul to Take, the last in the African Immortals series that began with My Soul to Keep–so I have had a long break from novels.

Here’s why:

My two-year appointment as Cosby Chair in the Humanities at Spelman College ends this month, concluding a wonderful three years of teaching at Spelman.  During that period, although…

View original post 1,754 more words

