Why is it still rare to see a black British woman with literary influence? | Books | The Guardian

My early writings were soaked in melancholy and produced late at night while I drowned myself in my favourite cocktail of whisky and Drambuie and chain-smoked Marlboro Reds. Needless to say, in the cold light of morning, a lot of it was dross. Angry and hurt at my marginalised status, I rejected the English canon on which I\’d been raised. I turned instead to the wave of brilliant African-American poets and prose stylists then hitting these shores: Gloria Naylor, Ntozake Shange, Michelle Cliff, Alice Walker, Audre Lorde and Toni Morrison. Their writings placed black women centre stage and inspired me to do the same.

via Why is it still rare to see a black British woman with literary influence? | Books | The Guardian.

