Books for Black Girls

See Me

I used to love to read as a child. My favorite books were “Jane Erye” and “The Secret Garden.”  I also was obsessed with Judy Blume books. I wish I had more books to read that were geared for black girls/children. But this was back in the 70’s/80’s when black children’s literature was rare to non-existent.  Now, there are more books for black parents to choose from. We still have a long way to go, but to see the range of black children’s literature these days, warms my heart. The blog For Harriet, recently listed their “25 Empowering Books for Little Black Girls.”

“From the moment they come into the world, little black girls works just a little bit harder than their peers to construct a healthy sense of self in a society that prizes values and attributes that don’t mirror those they possess. We as their caregivers must…

View original post 82 more words

