Movin and Groovin: New Writing Projects Are Afoot

So it’s been a while since I’ve posted consistently, not since the #31WriteNow challenge anyway. But the good news is it’s because I’ve tended to have consistent work for the past couple of months. The bad news is I have so many ideas that I can’t get them all out fast enough, so I end up paralyzed and unproductive because I just don’t know where to start. I am still working on my novel, though, and getting closer to having pieces of a draft by the end of the year.

However, I am planning another project and hoping that putting it out in the cosmos will motivate me to get started. Anyone who knows me knows I am a huge music fan and I love to write about music and music artists. Two years ago I decided I wanted to write a book about black women in music who fall outside the bounds of R&B/soul music. I’ve decided to go forth with that project on the blog.

I plan to write about black women in genres like rock and folk and a few like Betty Davis and Klymaxx who can be considered R&B artists but are still anomalies because of the amount of agency they had over their music careers. I want to start with some artists from the 1960s onward and move on to the present day. Many of them are familiar with most people, but we still don’t appreciate the full extent of their work. I also believe I’ve found a few women who are relatively unknown in the mainstream and have cult and underground followings.

I’m excited about doing this since this is something I’ve wanted to do for the past 15 years or so. I thought I should work toward doing a book, but I have a platform with the blog, so I see no reason to proceed. Keep in mind, other than the Internet, I have few resources, but I’m working with what I can. Hopefully, music fans will get to know some new artists and “discover” a few whom history has overlooked.

