Going Home

A couple of days ago, I got the news I’ve been dreading to hear for some time now. My grandmother is in the hospital very close to death after a series of strokes a few months ago. On that day, I had found that I had no steady work hours with my job yet and I was struggling just to see how I would make the bills and the grocery shopping I hadn’t done for a month. However, I remembered about Megabus and I ended getting a “raise” with my other job writing content for the web. My sister and I found out where the station was and I made arrangements to go home. Meanwhile, yesterday I got another “raise” that actually means I make more with the writing job now than I do with the “steady” job.

At that moment, I stopped worrying. Sometimes things work out for me just when I need and at this moment I need to go home. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that my grandmother holds on long enough for me to see her. I hope to be home by tomorrow evening if all goes well. Tonight, I’m getting on the bus and making the trek. My family is already in the process of thinking about the funeral and making arrangements, so chances are I’ll be going back in the near future.

Right now I’m trying to think about seeing all my niblings again for the first time in more than two years. I’m trying to think that for the first time since I’ve been in Wisconsin, I think I’ll be okay if I can just keep myself going. I can’t wait to see my grandmother, but I’m afraid I may have waited too late. I’m just keeping the positive vibes going and telling myself I’ll get there. In the meantime, I probably won’t have much net access in the next few days, so try not to have too much fun until Tuesday ;-).

2 thoughts on “Going Home

Comments are closed.